Sunday, December 30, 2007

4 Indians win media awards in Dubai

4 Indians win media awards in Dubai
29 Dec, 2007, 1235 hrs IST, PTI

DUBAI: Four Indians have been awarded by a Dubai-based media group for excellence in fields like animation and photography.

Among the total 11 winners of Ibdaa Media Student Awards 2007, presented at a gala ceremony held at Dubai Media City Amphitheatre here, were Santosh Nayak from Sir J J Institute of Applied Art who won in the Animation category and Sagar Pitale from L S Raheja School of Art for Graphic Designing.

Besides, Varun Dahisaria from Rachana Sansad College of Applied Arts, India, came first in Digital Photography and Derryk Mas carenhas from Rizvi College of Arts, India won the award for Print Advertising.

Shaikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Chairman of Dubai Technology and Media Free Zone Authority presented the awards on Thursday evening.

The students were selected from more than 2,200 media student entries across the globe, including from Egypt, India, Iran, Lebanon, Pakistan, Philippines, the UK and the UAE for the sixth edition of the award.

Besides cash prizes, the winners were also awarded internship opportunities with leading media organisations such as CNN, MBC, CNBC Arabia, Xische, Team Y&R, Motivate Publishing, Nikon, Saatchi & Saatchi, Leo Burnett and Arabian Radio Network (ARN).

Mohamed Al Mulla, director, Dubai Media City, and coordinator general of the Ibdaa Awards, said, "The awards mark the pinnacle of achievement for the talented youngsters and their remarkable creative skills. This recognition will lead to promising careers with top media organisations, not just for the winners but for all the short-listed participants as well."

No comments:

Post a Comment